Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Shadow Sapling

for each
new
fresh green
leaf
a shadow


As a postscript to yesterday's adventures 9yo was off to casualty this morning with an aching wrist that hadn't improved since yesterday. The doctors investigated and have found a chipped bone, so he's now weighed down with a heavy plaster cast, which will keep him going until a return to fracture clinic next week.

I am the guilty party as the wrist was broken as 9yo attempted to save a fierce half volley that I'd unleashed in his direction. I have promised to be his personal servant for the next six weeks as I try to redeem myself.

Today, in the late afternoon, I walked down to Moorside to see if there was any sign of the Green Hairstreaks yet. There wasn't, but at least this fine shadow made the trip worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.