Lavender

Lavender, Lilac;
Purples from Mother Nature;
I adore them all.



I think I'm a marketing man's dream when it comes to garden centres. Put a butterfly on something purple and you're pretty much guaranteed a sale ;)

Not that a visit to any garden centres was on my Easter weekend list but there you go!

When I woke up it hurt to breathe let alone move so I was relieved not to have a Daddy return visit till after lunch. He dug a lump of concrete out of where my new hedge would need to be planted (see yesterday!) and declared the soil quite good.

The soil has no choice, it was so noisy and unsettling indoors last night without that normal protection that I'm keen to get the gap filled asap.

After some research I'd decided on Purple Beech as it apparently thrives in windy conditions (tick) and is suitable for roadside as it is unharmed by salt spray and pollution (big tick)...the local tree place is out of stock. Of course they are it's my luck after all...both garden centres have them...but...when I find them amongst the Spring thriving greenery they are brown and looking as dead as doornails...I'm assured they're not dead but, if both local nurseries can't keep them looking healthy I won't have a cat in hell's chance!

I've now chosen a variation of similarly coloured (purple not brown) shrubbery plus some of that lovely blue Ceanothus and the pinky purple version of my mum's beloved Red Robin for variation.

The lavenders and heathers were on special offers - some will go out front and some will go out back.

When it starts raining tomorrow you'll know I've found the energy (or a willing helper) to start planting!

Then the good Lord just needs to answer my prayer for patience while I wait for them all to grow taller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.