DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Chartwell'

A lovely Easter Saturday over the border to Kent.
Chartwell National Trust..
The Churchill family loved Chartwell. It was the home of Sir Winston, and is very much as it was when the family lived there. Pictures, books and personal mementoes. The studio is home to the largest collection of Churchill's paintings (although I must admit they aren't to my taste) but the garden is!
They include the lakes he created, the kitchen garden, a rose garden given to Sir Winston and his wife on their Golden Wedding anniversary by their children and the Marycot, a playhouse designed by Sir Winston for his youngest daughter Mary.
The sweeping views are stunning! There were so many children there enjoying Easter egg huntsand making Easter hats. I so wished my Grandsons were there with me. So hard to choose a photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.