Black Devon III

Seems like we've knocked it on the head for another Easter weekend weather-wise this year, so to escape the inevitable session doing a bit of tidying up in the garden, jumped on the old bike and headed out to enjoy it (the newer bike's in Halfords being assessed after developing a bit of a bottom bracket rattle).

Wound my way up to Linn Mill falls again, armed this time with the 'Big Stopper' filter to shoot some smooth water. Arrived just as a a group of chittering teenagers were towelling themselves after going for a dook in the water. It might be sunny, but that water must've been absolutely freezing. As much as I was perplexed at them wanting to risk their testicles withdrawing for a week inside their bodies away from the chilly waters of the Black Devon, they were equally as perplexed as to why I was wanting to take photos. "What you takin' photies fur?" one asked. "It's a nice spot, looks good in a photo" I said. "Whit dae ye dae with them?". Ok. He nearly had me with that one, but I said I shared them on a website. I was going to explain further but he'd tied his shoelaces by that point and was chasing his neeburs up the path saying they should phone a taxi to come and get them. That made me laugh; was never something I'd even have considered when I was that age, especially with Lidl bags full of wet towels.

Managed to pick up a puncture on the way back, first in a long time, so took the quicker route home before it went flat completely. Forgot how hard it is trying to cycle uphill with a slowly deflating tractor tyre underneath.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.