Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Daniamant L160

My daughter Nienke and I did some location scouting today, driving around through the beautiful province of Groningen. One of the stops was near Uithuizen, at the Waddensea. It was there where we found this life buoy light.

At night, when the girls were already in bed, I watched the news on TV and learned that a fisherman turned missing and a search operation took place today. Even though I don't think this light belonged to the fisherman (it had been in the water for too long), I started wondering what had happened with this life buoy light. Why was it thrown in the water? Was it a man overboard situation? Was the person rescued? How did the light become detached from the buoy? What was its journey and how did it end up on the shore near Uithuizen? I don't think we'll ever know.

Just to be sure, I contacted the Dutch coast guard, told them we found the life buoy light and asked them if they could do anything with the serial number on the light. They asked me if the life buoy was still attached. I thought that was a rather silly question... Anyway, they couldn't do anything with the serial number but I'm glad I called to report it anyway. And it gave me something to blip.

I know it's been a while since my previous blip. Between my family life, job, completely redoing our living room and some commissioned photography work blipping has sort of moved to the background somewhat. Still, I now have a lifetime membership so I guess I will still be here every now and then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.