The tulips and the dustbin

I've finished reading my friend's self-published novel and am astounded by it. It's difficult to categorise (using gentle sci-fi to explore empathy, which sounds tediously worthy but isn't) and difficult to describe (many points of view) but is deftly written and really worth the read. I spent most of the sunny day today noting the typos I'd promised to record while I was reading ready for the second printing.

It is not called The Tulips and the Dustbin but I think that if I did tell you the title that would be advertising, sadly.

Edit: OK, I have faith in Bernard saying it's not advertising. It's Toggle by Wyon Stansfeld but if it interests you, wait until the new non-typo edition comes out, probably in about a month. So far it's spread mostly by word of mouth and I'm sure some of the reviews on Amazon will be by Wyon's friends. But they are accurate and honest. I was rather dreading a self-published novel but I needn't have done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.