It was Seaside Saturday and I was joined by my sister, brother-in-law and nephews today for the jolly jaunt.

We had a lovely day, starting off in Leigh-on-Sea, staring over the estuary as we ate chips with the circling seagulls, whilst my nephew had a dig in the sand on the beach. After those salty chips, we were in need of a cheeky alcoholic beverage, so we enjoyed a drink outside The Peterboat pub in the sunshine. My brother-in-law then drove us along to Southend, where we had a ride to the end the pier and back on the bumpy little train, then dinner in the chilly evening sun outside a cafe by the beach and then all too quickly it was gone 7.00 p.m. and time to head home.

A good day was had by all (well, maybe not my nephew Joseph, who, when I asked if he'd had a jolly day, said a firm "no", which of course, is the correct answer for a young teenage boy, forced out of the house, away from his laptop!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.