chantler63

By chantler63

Tower of Strength

For representing 'a tower of strength' as today's Shakespeare Challenge, I thought of the Statue of Liberty which we visited a couple of years ago whilst holidaying in New York. I know, as towers go, that it's not that big, but is it very commanding - both to be standing close to it and also to view from a distance. It was a great symbol of hope and tower of strength to many of the immigrants landing on Ellis Island in the past.

I have practised some Photoshop skills using the mug I bought from the (inevitable) souvenir shop on Liberty Island. I've also included a photograph of the Photo Book I put together of all the things we did whilst there as I did take the image on the cover!

NB: Photoshop skills need a LOT more work!

Tower of strength
Meaning
Someone who can be relied on to provide support and comfort.
Origin
This term derives from The Book of Common Prayer, 1549:
"O lorde... Bee vnto them a tower of strength."

Shakespeare later used it in Richard III, 1594:
'The king's name is a tower of strength."


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.