Igor

By Igor

Shakespeare Challenge:‘tower of strength’

Since the body of Richard III was discovered in a Leicester carpark, I have begun to revise my opinion of the man. I have shifted from simply accepting the Shakespearean villain to a position of now sitting on the fence; perhaps he murdered the Princes in the Tower, perhaps he didn’t. Was it a Tudor plot to strengthen their shaky claim to the throne? Who knows? What I do know is that history is always written by the winners.

We can count ourselves lucky to have one tower of strength to call on - but two? I am in that enviable position.

The first is this spade. This Spear and Jackson stainless steel spade has just shifted 2 cubic yards of lawn for a new veggie plot. I know it’s 2 cubic yards because I’ve filled two 1 cubic yard bags. The lawn thus removed sat on heavy clay, some of which the spade still wears like battle honours from Bosworth Field (only this time the spade was on the winning side).

While I do battle with the clay, I have an ally standing by; unlike Sir William Stanley at Bosworth, this ally comes to my aid while I struggle. Anniemay shifts the broken turf, wheeling her barrow through gaps broad and narrow before emptying it into the waiting bags. I am exhausted and can do no more. She jumps up and down on the spade, bending the last few turves to her will. She then makes me a cup of coffee while I sit and marvel at her prowess.

I’ve been ill for the past 8 years and can no longer do some of the things I have always taken for granted. She is always there for me - encouraging me, cajoling me and nagging me - helping to get my life back. She is my tower of strength. Even when she wanders round the house singing 'Tower of Strength" (Frankie Vaughan version)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.