WorldLens

By worldlens

Itsy Bitsy Pineapple

I shrieked with joy as I opened the car door. No we were not a Disneyland. We had just parked in our normal parking place along the back alley. However, for the first time I noticed tiny pineapples popping up from the planter next to our parking space.

"Can I take a picture?!?" I quickly asked my friend, who was laughing at my excitement. My hand was already on my camera, whether she said yes or not. (But she did say yes. Luckily most Thais love to take pictures too, although usually of people.)

The first couple of shots had a nice depth of field, with one pineapple in the front and another behind, but you really couldn't get a good idea of the size (or at least I couldn't.) So I opted for this shot. In some ways I felt like I was cupping a baby foot and taking the typical tiny-newborn-toes-in-the-hand shot.

I love fresh pineapple. Since coming to Thailand, I've been spoiled to be able to eat it for really cheap almost anytime I want. I don't know if this pineapple will grow big enough to eat, but I'll keep an eye on it now that I've found it. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.