WorldLens

By worldlens

New Goal

What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.
Henry David Thoreau

I've run off and on since I was in elementary school. My favorite runs are out in nature, along trails, quite places with a view...none of which I've found in Bangkok. I still ran when I could, but much more sporadically than in the past. Something about the hot weather, constant humidity, fighting for space along crowded roads, dodging motorcycles and vendor's carts, breathing in exhaust from the cars, and stares from just about everyone made running less appealing.

About a month ago I decided I needed to get rid of all those excuses. I started moving toward my goal of running a marathon before I'm 30. Hopefully it will happen this summer at the San Francisco Marathon. My best friend, Rambler's Tale, bought me a new pair of shoes. My old ones had quite a few holes in them, but I was going to wait until I got back to the States to replace them. No need now. I have awesome, bright, shoes to take me all the way to the finish line. Thanks Rambler's Tale!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.