all quarters by thirds

30,195 steps is by no means the furthest I've walked in a day and probably not even the furthest I've walked in a day since first installing the step counter application on my phone back in January but it's the largest amount recorded in one day where I've remembered to turn the counter on and haven't lost any countings due to SIM error or battery failure. Had I been inclined to walk to Portobello upon reaching Brunswick Road and confirming that it no longer functions as my nearest sorting office then I might have gone over 30,000 without going round a few extra blocks on the last walk of the day after I went to retrieve some empty boxes from under my desk at work. Had I gone I would probably have been able to retrieve the parcel the lying bastards of the Royal Mail claimed to have attempted to deliver last weekend and which, if the sorting office isn't open tomorrow, might conceivably have reached the end of the mere week for which Recorded Deliveries are retained before they're sent back to their senders. I might pop down to it tomorrow just for a laugh now that the sender has sent me the tracking number. If not, it'll be a tense visit on Monday morning which will hopefully not result in attempting to remain polite rather than become heavily sarcastic towards the people at the reception desk.

After the initial pointless first leg of the day's trundling I continued around a few bits of the city until I had all the various bits of stuff I need for next week, at one point stridingly confidently up the same pavement I had slid gingerly along a couple of hours previously before the ice melted. Fortunately, a few minutes after noting the difference it started blizzarding again and had hopefully re-frozen by the evening, though I didn't walk that way again to be able to confirm this. I did something I hardly ever do and trotted back after someone who'd walked past me when I was on the phone in order to get a picture of them as they were attempting to keep their head dry with an empty Tesco bag whilst carrying another full one in their other hand through the fairly heavy snow. As often happens with that sort of thing, the event is depicted but the photo isn;t anything special. I made the mistake of reading an article on composition the other day and was thus noticing the viewfinder's alignment-lines more than usual. I'd switch them off but my tendency to rotate slightly clockwise worsens without a few extra guidelines to align straight edges with, though I still had to twitch the bin and fence/lock pictures a couple of degrees to get them straight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.