From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Knackered, scorched and sand blasted!

'Knackered, scorched and sand blasted' was my Facebook status earlier.

I went for a walk into town at 10:30 this morning and only got back in the house an hour ago! We wandered up to Boots and Marks and Spencers for a couple of odds and ends but then mom suggested we get the bus to Prestwick for a bit of excitement. I like buses so was quite happy to take the short journey up there. I normally only go through Prestwick on the train when I'm on my way to Glasgow Airport. It was OK anyway and a change of scenery. We thought we might as well have lunch while we were there. Mom with her eagle eye spotted a Wetherspoons so we went in there for jacket spuds, wine for mom and a pint of Abbot Ale for me.

I was just pleased she hadn't suggested going to Scruffy Murphy's which was a couple of doors further up. Prestwick just appears to be full of chemist shops, cafes and pubs! There is the station and Prestwick Airport of course, but I can't fly back to Brum from there so it's no use to me. Elvis visited Prestwick during the war years. No idea why.... You visit beautiful Scotland which will have my heart forever and the only place you visit is Prestwick? Maybe Elvis fancied a red squirrel sandwich?

Oh dear! I am waffling again. Lunch was nice. We caught the bus back to Ayr afterwards and then mom wandered home and I carried on to the beach to get a photo or two. It wasn't an entirely successful venture as I had a long walk first, my legs were hanging off and the sun was so bright, everything was a bit scorched and I was struggling to see what I was taking a picture of! This was the best of a bad bunch.

Get dazzled..

It was either that or a pile of rocks I took by accident when I stumbled over someone's fishing rod! I was lucky I didn't fall over the edge of the platform into the sea. I cannot swim and I don't think the rather cross Scotsman whose rod it was would have jumped in to save me somehow...

It was very, very windy along the beach and I had my eyes half closed while I was walking about. My hair is full of sand and I have startlingly white eyeballs in a bright red face right now. It's probably just as well that I am working tomorrow so I can stay indoors until a sensible hour and rest my nagging right tendon. Still, it's been a good Easter break.

Roll on the next bank holiday!

Track? Let's have a bit of Planty today - I Believe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.