My Life in A&E

By gilvratina

A true sign that summer is on its way, is the emptying, cleaning and refilling of the outdoor pools.

This is the Ungererbad near Münchner Freiheit. I cycled past on the way back from work today and noticed it was empty.

I used to go the first summer I was here, but my (perhaps skewed) memory of its water with vicious sub-zero temperatures has put me off going back since. It's a funny place because very few people actually seem to swim. They mostly just lie around the pool in various states of undress, exposing vast amounts of skin to the raging sun.

I remember being in the pool once when a storm got up. Eventually it was just me and some leaves left in the water.

If the weather is good this summer, I shall take Biggs as he's never been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.