todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

City of culture...

I spent a wonderful afternoon in Glasgow, visiting a few of the events that are part of the international festival.

I'm spoiled for blip choice but I've settled on this sign from Govanhill Baths. The old building is housing some inflatable sculptures that were first seen in London during the Olympics. They were ok but I was bowled over by the building itself.

Closed as a community pool many years ago, it was sold by the Council to a locally formed trust - a bunch of passionate and committed volunteers - who are developing the building as a community facility and hope to reinstate the pool to it's former glory.

I was lucky enough to get chatting to one of the trust members and he was happy to show me around, proudly telling me of the past and hopeful future of the building. Nowadays we call them pools and leisure centres, but the baths' were real community hubs where people swam, did their laundry and washed and bathed themselves.

Many a happy afternoon was spent swimming in a similar 'baths' in my youth. It's now demolished. Seeing this old building today was a real treat. Some might call it decayed, I found it enchanting. Already there's a community cafe, sewing group, theatre company and yoga group happily using it's facilities.

I wish the Govanhill Baths Community Trust all the good fortune in the world. What a noble venture they pursue.

Today outof10? A memorable 9.2 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.