If Mr. Bell Could See This

Though it's already been a little over a week since I purchased my new iPhone 5s, it isn't too late to feature it in today's blip post.

Until just last week, I've had my basic flip phone with no bells and whistles. It had a crude camera, I could text, and I could make phone calls. I was reluctant to shell out so much money for a phone and then even more money for the monthly internet fees, but as you can see, I have succumbed to the allure of modern technology.

I have no regrets. I'm thoroughly enjoying my new phone, and as a web designer, I'm now able to check how well sites are displaying and behaving on mobile devices, such as an iPhone, without asking my "testers" (and you know who you are) to check for me. It has made so many routine activites easier, and downright fun. Spinning around my kitchen, iPhone compass in hand, doing 360ºs is one of countless activites I can now enjoy.

iPhones are incredibly rugged, miniature computers. The glass on the 5s screen is made of "Gorilla Glass", a special glass formulation made by Corning that is unbelievably resistant to scratching.

The iPhoness have strips of glass on the back where the antennas are located (radio signals cannot pass through metal). In total, there are 15 different radio transceivers inside an iPhone, each for different frequencies, and then some for WiFi, Bluetooth and GPS. The talent and ingenuity that went into its design is nothing short of amazing.

I still prefer my Olympus for photography, but now when I forget my camera (which isn't often) I have a very good backup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.