Stumbling at the last hurdle

Imagine my excitement when I saw the workmen back at the bus stop over the road! I thought this was it! D-Day, the day when finally the bus shelter would be made available for waiting under...

The final panes of glass were inserted today (nearly a month after the first lot) and nearly two months after the groundwork was completed, and three months after the whole thing began. A brief history here:

The start
A week later
a month later
...and still on track...

..and then the bus shelter got delivered, and taken away again as it wasn't straight and then some panes of glass were delivered, but not all and then nothing ....until now!

I had my blip planned - a photo of my boys - the first sitters on the bench, under the bus shelter...

But no.

Clearly the council department that puts in the glass, isn't the department that takes away the protective barriers, and at this point it wouldn't surprise me if it's yet another department that is responsible for peeling off the protective plastic covering on the lovely new bus stop seat.

Then, to add another level of farce to the whole thing - I went to a Parish Council meeting tonight, to discover that there have been several objections to the "style" not being in keeping with the conservation village status...

Perhaps soon it will all be bulldozed and we will start again? Nothing would surprise me!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.