ncpinkerton

By ncpinkerton

Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove is a hidden gem in Edinburgh which is just around the corner from my flat. Many people in Edinburgh including those who live in Gilmerton have never heard of it or know anything about it. It consists of underground tunnels and rooms that were hand craved into sandstone. It is a very mysterious place as it's true origin is not know. George Paterson claimed to have built the cove in the 18th century over a period of 5 years and used it as a home. Archaeologists believe that the cove could not have been built by one man and it probably predates this.

Today I took a tour of the Cove with a few friends. I have been here once before, but I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to go again and take some more friends to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.