hockeystorm65

By hockeystorm65

The Angels' Share

There are few phrases that mean more to a Scot than "the Angels' Share". That proportion of a barrel that is lost to evaporation as the barrels 'breath' during the maturation process. Around 20% is lost in evaporation every 10 years of aging.

This is my last bottle (sob!) Bruichladdich 1993 (a classic Islay Malt) from a half cask laid down by the 'Alchemist' for my good friend Paul McDonagh who runs the Bon Accord in Glasgow.....go look him up the next time you are passing:

http://www.bonaccordweb.co.uk/

....anyway, this is a bottle that exceeded the expected 120 bottles from a half cask and as a result could not be sold........it is my 4th (and last!...did I mention that!) bottle from that cask and is my favourite whisky of all time! bar none!.....so as my most prized posession.....I thought it was worth a Blip!

....slàinte!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.