AviLove

By avilover

Chondestes grammacus

#63 - BlipBigYear 2014

This shot wasn't my best today but the species is too good not to blip. This is a Lark Sparrow, a bird I've only seen twice before in my life. It actually inhabits most of the US during the breeding season, favoring grasslands or open woods. It has the distinction of being the only sparrow that walks, rather than hops. J and I went adventuring to the southern end of the county in hopes of scoring some returning migrants; this was but one of many avian spoils.

So something happened yesterday that was a blip first for me....my Spotted Owls hit the spotlight!! What?? The spotlight's a real thing?? In all my 797 entries I had never stepped into this mystical realm of blip appreciation, nor had I received so many hearts and stars for one of my entries. I am very touched by this small moment of recognition, as I continually am by those of you who visit, comment on, or otherwise support my contributions to this special site. I haven't had nearly as much time to dedicate to blipping lately, but I continue to appreciate very much all your kind words and thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.