weewilkie

By weewilkie

passing

Out for my usual head cleansing walk at lunchtime. The sky the colour of wet ash, dampening my thoughts. Martins skimmed along the river where I was walking, alighting on the banks to gather materials for their nests. I first thought they were swallows, but their pale breast and head marks them otherwise. It was really relaxing watching their speedy gliding, almost to the point where I expect their call to be "Wheeeee!!!"

Then along came a helicopter slicing up the tranquility of the scene to land at the helipad just down-river. I liked the yellow colour contrasted against the dark sky. Also, the wee peek of the Tall Ship just entering the frame.
I watched it land, and off I went back to work for the afternoon a little down beat, but with these pale birds of thought scribbling across my mind, dipping and exultant if barely graspable. A lunchtime, passing. Passed. Past.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.