SueScape

By SueScape

Charmel OB22

A grey day for a change. After the glasses saga yesterday, I lost a crown this morning, cleaning my teeth. Luckily I found a large dental practice in Oban and got an appointment late morning. The gods must have been smiling on me because I got the only Holistic Dentist in Oban, perhaps in Argyll, and he was lovely. Lots of advice and the crown refixed in minutes. Meant I was all set for my lunch date after all, at the Creaggan Inn on Loch Creran. It’s a super spot, the landlady is bright and breezy and very friendly, food good. They are putting together craft work including paintings by local artists so there’s something to browse while you eat. It’s the place to go if you want to take your dog too, it’s very dog friendly in the bar and on the deck. Lovely atmosphere. Drove home via the Loch Etive road through North Connel, always a favourite.

But my blip is a quick snap on the railway pier in Oban, the fishing vessel Charmel which looks like she was a bit snazzy in her prime, sadly looking a bit past it now. She’s a wooden vessel from Oban, 17metres long, built in 1980. I still like her character and charm, nothing wrong with a well-worn, lived-in exterior….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.