Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Defending his turf

Just a few moments after I snapped this, he took off in hot pursuit of another male cardinal who had, apparently, ventured too close to his domain. Cardinals are tolerant of one another during the winter months, often feeding near each other; but come spring, the males start vigorously defending a territory. After His Royal Redness had successfully chased the interloper away, he returned to her perch atop the cherry tree and sang his song, another way to defend what's his.

I spent most of the day inside, sorting and packing. Too chilly outside to continue painting the deck today, but just as well since my hands are still sore from yesterday.

I only took a handful of photos today - my second choice is posted HERE on Flickr.

Tomorrow I am taking the day off. I've finally booked my one-on-one photography session that hubs gave me for Christmas. I'm meeting the "teacher" at Waterloo Village and we are going to spend some time on landscapes. This is an area of photography that I don't know much about, so I'm really keen to have my session with this guy. If all goes well, tomorrow's blip will be a landscape of some sort.

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Hump Day.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.