Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Shakespeare's Birthday

Chantler's April 2014 Shakespeare Challenge - Shakespeare's Birthday

William Shakespeare was probably born 450 years ago today, and yet he is still considered to be one of the most remarkable playwrights this country has ever produced.

I saw my first Shakespeare play (Macbeth) aged 9, and have since seen Hamlet, Julius Caesar, King Lear (twice), Twelfth Night, The Taming of the Shrew (twice), A Midsummer Night's Dream (twice) - and a couple more. I've heard audio recordings, and read more. I love Shakespeare. I love the poetry of the words, the way they rhyme, and the way Shakespeare handled both comedy, and tragedy. He was a master of suspense. And I love the way the plays can be reborn again and again with different interpretations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.