By George! I Think He's Got It.

Happy St. George's Day :)

I checked online to find out if there were any celebrations locally that I could photograph. They were a bit thin on the ground, most having been scheduled for the weekend.

The Essex Ham St George's Day Activation caught my eye. It took place at Galleywood Common which comprises 175 acres that was originally a defensive fortification during the Napoleonic Wars. Later it was used as a racecourse and golf course, it’s now a nature reserve and a popular location for walks and kite-flying. It sprouted various aerials today.

The nearest town/city is Chelmsford, the birthplace of radio. The English enthusiasts were deep in conversation with people all over the world. I asked what they talk about. The weather it seems. :) I read an article in the paper this morning and learnt that Dr Johnson said, "When two Englishmen meet, their first talk is of the weather." This is a quirky and reassuring part of our English "cultural grammar."

It was lovely to meet members from www.essexham.co.uk and to walk in the woods afterwards.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.