Camera-Shy

By shy

Reading Glasses

Boy, oh boy do I depend on these!

For the last umpteen years my ability to read without glasses has gradually diminished.
I am happy to say that my normal-distance sight is almost perfect so I can drive and watch the telly (not at the same time) without them.
I had a colleague once who was 10 years younger than me, and for some reason he was quite competitive - I think he viewed me as some sort of threat (dunno why) , and would always draw attention to the difference in our age, as though being older was a disadvantage. We were equal in career status, football skills, cricket skills and tenpin bowling scores. The day I first had to use reading glasses was perceived as the first chink in my armour, and it gave him enourmous pleasure.
Not long after, I asked him to read the sign on the side of a house in the distance, to which he replied "what house?" After that, I knew I had won.

I left that company in 2002 and later heard that he had gone into hospital for a replacement hip, and just for good measure, they circumcised him. Poor deluded bloke.

Anyway, without reading glasses I'd starve because I wouldn't be able to read the instructions on microwave meals - and also, I wouldnt be able to blip because I couldn't see the foto's properly on the screen.

I have had seven pairs of reading glasses but lost 5 of them, so now I have only two left.......well, I will do when I find the other one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.