Imagerie

By vicki43

Rivers can not quench them

"A little fire is quickly trodden out; which, being suffered, rivers can not quench."
Shakespeare, Clarence in King Henry VI

Clarence is commenting on a situation that he thinks should be handled before it gets out of hand. 'Being suffered' here means being ignored, so ignore the little fires and they'll turn into conflagrations.

I'm in the middle of putting out a couple of fires, nothing terribly serious, but needing concerted attention. I've also recently begun work on a project after hours that, while rewarding, is demanding and time-consuming. So while I hope to keep up posting a picture a day, I won't be able to interact in the community as much as I would like. But I will check in regularly and hope to be back in full swing in the not too distant future!

Chantler Shakespeare Challenge, Shakespeare's Birthday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.