Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Springwood morning

Quick and dirty sharpness (or perhaps mushiness) test this morning. Somewhat idly, I sat the camera on my desk, selected aperture priority to keep the exposure much the same, focused using live view/focus peaking, and fired off a bunch of photos: from f/2.8 through to f/16 (I didn't bother with the half-stops). Noise levels do get in the way a bit, but I think it's quite apparent that f/2.8 has the extra facility of smearing Vaseline over the lens; f/4 is not bad; f/5.6 and 8 are the best; f/11's not far behind; f/16 is starting to go off a bit (though I suppose it might just be the noise).

Today's actual photo though, was from the railway station this morning. I rather like the light. Twisted up to f/16, the usual 1/200" & ISO 200, twisted the focus ring to infinity, raised the camera and snapped:

Click to enlumenate.

Soligor 1:2.8/35mm on Pentax K-30. f/16 I actually do recall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.