Sheppitsgal

By Sheppitsgal

End of an Era

I went to the doctors today. Don't worry, I'm not ill - just a regular blood test!

I have been with the same surgery all of my life - almost 42 years 22 years, as I am still 21, obviously!

There is some discussion with my parents as to whether the doctors were at their old place when I was born but, whatever, I can only ever remember attending this surgery. It's a small, single storey building and only has one doctor at the moment.

As you can probably guess from looking at the photo, not much has changed over the years - there was a paint job on the walls, but even that is many years ago now. Posters and leaflets get changed (occasionally), also, we now have the old people stressing new computer book-in system. Other than that, it's much the same.

Not any more though!

As from Tues 6 May, the surgery is moving into brand, spanking new premises within the local leisure centre.

So, barring unforeseen illness, today is the last ever time I will ever sit on the deep red faux leather bench seat, or stick my head through the sliding window opening to talk to the receptionists.

This actually makes me quite sad. There was some comfort in the familiar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.