Crocodile Rock

This headache of mine has been so persistent that I booked an appointment with the doctor yesterday and saw him this morning. It had been six years since my last visit to the GP. I told him that I wasn't racing along on the bike with so much speed, that I was no longer able to stride out to the top cairn on the moor, that I was struggling fixing problems with my software. "Any idea what's wrong," I ask. You can guess the answer. And apparently there's no cure. Useless these doctors. He has decided to do some blood tests though - just in case.

I'm pretty sure there's no real problem but it does no harm to check things out. I'm very well aware that the state of our mind and the state our body are very closely interconnected. It's one system. I'm simply working too many hours under too much pressure. But this business is a bit like having a family and just as parents of young children can't suddenly decide to take some time off or even take it easy, I can't really do the same at the moment. I brought these software applications into the world and I've got to nurture them along a bit further before they can stand on their own feet and go out into the world independently of my supervision. These recalcitrant 'kids' of mine just aren't growing up fast enough - or behaving themselves well enough.

And I really shouldn't complain when I have this kind of landscape available just a few minutes from home. I took a walk before my appointment this morning, enjoying the mist bubble up under bright sunshine following a night of rain. It was a little magical and this is the kind of start to the day I need to give myself more often.

I was pleasantly surprised by your reaction to yesterday's image. Thank you so much for seeing what I saw myself. I was slightly worried it might be nothing more than a jumbled mess!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.