Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

ANZAC dawn

I met the troop of Scouts this morning in the cold pre-dawn darkness in time for the 99th ANZAC service. I am sorry for the blurriness, I took it over my head as I couldn't see a thing for all the people. These services are growing in popularity and have more connection to the sacred than any other public events I have seen in this country.
There were 3 services in our wee City today. At 6.30 am, this was the middle service. There was no way I was going to the 4.15am ! You would be a brave person to suggest not taking part in this event, but I wonder whether we balance the deaths of all those men with discussions of how to keep the peace now. Or worse, why our armed force resources are being misused to ensure that no asylum seeker boats reach our shores - purely for political gain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.