Igor

By Igor

a hole in the ground

Me: “do you want to see my blip for the day? It’s a hole in the ground”

Anniemay (sings): “Right said Fred …. la la la la la ….”

I’m getting worried. She can’t remember where she left her car keys/phone/who she’s agreed to meet for coffee …. But she can remember song lyrics from the early 1960s. In their entirety.

I don’t like to point out that she’s got it wrong this time. ‘Right said Fred’ was a indeed a song from the 1960s - by Bernard Cribbins. However - that was about two men trying to move a piano. The ‘hole in the ground’ is a reference to an entirely different song, albeit by the same performer. It’s about a man digging a hole in the ground and entitled - perhaps not unsurprisingly -‘A hole in the ground’.

So she got the performer right and the lyrics. Just the song wrong (a note for music scholars; both records were produced by George Martin before he became the 5th Beatle).

It’s one of those days. I’m stuck at home and I’m stuck indoors. I’m waiting in for a delivery and the garden is a sea of mud. A week ago it was sunny and we dug up part of the lawn to make a veggie bed. It’s rained since and we can’t set foot on it. We live on heavy clay; fine for roses and the local brickworks, but impossible to walk on without ending up with feet like a Yeti (who lives in mud rather than snow). In case you’re wondering, the paint brush marks the location of the washing line post.

My challenge today then is to try and make an interesting picture of a muddy hole. I fiddle around with Nik Silver Efx for a while. Eventually the excitement wears off and I make a post-fiddle coffee. Perhaps when I get to 365, I’ll look back at this and remember the battle for the veggie plot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.