TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

'Zanderling'

I could glue together all my scrapped documents into a giant Snipper Book. I don’t think you could move it through the front door. You would have to break out the panorama window to get it out and down on the pavement. Crrassh, giant pages fluttering over the street, blocking the traffic. Neighbours trying to help, recollect the blown away folios. I will get a big broom and paint that whole paper street into A Giant Art Quilter...

Dear Frieda, thankyou so much for all your support and beautiful comments. Of course you are the real quilting artist, whose creative productivity I admire. Here I try to liberate myself from my impossible documentation urge, information obsession and over-passionate paper collection. I must paint that paperstreet into one great warning sign for gulls: be aware of all that poisonous stuff in the trash bins, all that plastic drifting in the surf, the stray dirt, people leave everywhere.

For nearly a decade I have done my best to sue and make pay big industrial polluters for the enormous costs of cleanup the soil and water pollution they had caused. Here they go into painterly metamorphosis, all my notes on notorious legal cases, we fought to the end, overpowered as we were, representing society and the dutch state, by the big multi-national corporations. Watch out what you are eating here in the streets and on the beaches, you Gulls, it’s dangerous stuff…!

I felt happy and relieved to have a beach break, a long walk and a short refreshing swim. Though the seawater is still cold, at a sunny beach day, more people can’t resist to go for a short swim.
And sunny it was this afternoon, a bit windy, but walking along the surf makes you forget that captivating and rigid rational linear logic of the legal paper-world of my past, oh so clever and complex, but never as elegant and energetic as a tumbling wave, a gull’s flight, or liberating as the small silhouette of a lonely “Zanderling”, far away walking along the bending seashore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.