Purple hat brigade!

I think one of the things I love about Blip is how I can be wondering what I will blip that day,thinking will I have to resort to an EB, when the unexpected happens. Just as I left the bank a bevy of ladies exited the Bull Hotel. (This is the collective noun for a gang of ladies, leaving the hotel, maybe well suited!) Wow! The Purple Hat ladies fantastic! I tried very hard to get past them all, but some of these old dears were pretty speedy, but I managed to bring a small group of them (well about half) to a halt and ask to take their pic. They were quite excited about being stopped outside a very nice jewellers, even though they were in a hurry to catch a bus! Made my day and my blip!

A group of us used to do something similar - think this should be reinstated Belles? (I was wearing a read coat, and had a purple jumper on underneath!)

Mr PB has watched 2 youtube videos, bought a set of tiny screwdrivers and this evening taken my little Panasonic apart and cleaned it. All looks good. Thank you L for telling me it was dust on the sensor, and a big thank (and kiss) for Mr PB you have saved me loads!

If you don't know the poem:

When I am Old
When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat that doesn't go, and doesn't suit me,
And I shall spend my pension
on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals,
and say we've no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired,
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells,
And run my stick along the public railings,
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick the flowers in other people's gardens,
And learn to spit.
You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat,
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go,
Or only bread and pickle for a week,
And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats
and things in boxes.
But now we must have clothes that keep us dry,
And pay our rent and not swear in the street,
And set a good example for the children.
We will have friends to dinner and read the papers.
But maybe I ought to practise a little now?
So people who know me
are not too shocked and surprised,
When suddenly I am old
and start to wear purple!

Jenny Joseph

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.