On the Go

I'm writing this at 9:30pm Friday evening, after a very busy and productive day! Today's blip is the view (slightly enhanced) from 4th floor room at the YMCA where my Silver Sneakers Circuit class meets. One whole wall is windows, looking out over downtown Bellingham, the bay, and Lummi Island; I always enjoy that view for a few minutes before each class begins.

After a good work-out, I came home and made lunch for us. There was no time to linger over a second cup of tea, however, as we had haircuts this afternoon (Phil managed to fit in a beer at Kulshan Brewery while I was having mine), and then shopping at REI, which offers quality outdoor gear and clothing, for things Phil needed for our upcoming trip.

A quick ten-minute stop at home to put away the purchases and spruce ourselves up, and then we were off again to meet Seattle friends S and E for supper. We met at Pepper Sisters, an eclectic restaurant with a Southwest slant -- I loved my southwest pizza, made with a cornmeal crust and tomatillo sauce, and topped with fresh roasted green chiles, sautéed mushrooms, pine nuts, tomatoes, and jack cheese, and served with a green salad. We hadn't seen S and E for a couple of years, so it was wonderful to have several hours together to talk about our various activities, travels, books, and families, and we hope to see them again soon.

Now it's time to get ready for the farmers' market tomorrow morning, and then bed! I'll catch up with you all over the weekend, in between getting our guest room ready for my daughter, who is coming up on Monday for a couple of days, and tackling the rapidly multiplying weeds in the garden, as well as the usual chores. I'm definitely not a bored retiree!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.