Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Butlin's

I haven't been very well this last week so am about to upload some fairly pedestrian photos taken close to or inside the house over the last few days in a desperate attempt to keep up with my one every day challenge. Sorting them out will be difficult so please bear with me.

Reduced to taking photographs of photographs.

Still, this has nostalgia value for everyone over a certain age from a particular kind of background. When I was wee we only ever had two family holidays. Once we went camping in Argyll and my abiding memory is rain. The other holiday was to Butlin's in Ayr when there is this photographic evidence that sometimes the sun did shine.

It really was another world, another lifetime. Note the hanky pinned to my knickers and the proper old fashioned sun bonnet (believe it or not my Mum kept that & I still have it stashed away somewhere!). Mind you, I was lucky. I must have been about three. My brother was still only about one - the photos of him were much more embarrassing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.