Hooray for Hover Flies

Or Syrphid flies. They are back and I'm really pleased as it feels like warmer days are here or very near when the Syrphid Fly starts zooming around.

Although they mimic wasps they do not sting. Unfortunately despite my best efforts I am unsure which type of Syrphid Fly this is. It's relatively easy to eliminate quite a few of the variants, but in the end I was still unable to differentiate between the small number I had left.

I spotted two different Syrphid flies this evening and although I photographed both types I had two shots I thought worthy of blipping of this type and none of the other one.

I'm pleased with the detail captured in this picture, which is definitely worth looking at large to get the full effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.