Northern Exposure

By Northern

Windswept World Tai Chi Day

Every year people from around the world get together on the last Saturday in April at 10am in their time zone to celebrate World Tai Chi Day.

Our plan was to meet this morning on the Kirk Green in front of St Magnus Cathedral and perform some tai chi followed by a drop in session in a nearby hall for anyone wishing to find out more or have a try at some simple tai chi.

First bit didn't quite go to plan as the weather was against us and as we didn't fancy doing tai chi in the freezing rain and wind to a pretty much empty street we decided just to do the drop in session. That went much better. We had a good turn out from those who already come to classes and managed to get some practice in. Also had a steady trickily of people coming in to find out what tai chi was all about who all had at the start of the hand form and we also performed some demos of the spear and sabre form which was great fun and well received.

Lots of pics and videos were taken and will hopefully be uploaded to the WTCD website but in amongst all the excitement somehow I forgot to take a pic for my blip. So I stopped off on the way home and asked a friend if she would mind popping down to the beach and taking a pic of me. She's used to such strange requests and was happy to oblige, although it did prove very difficult to do good tai chi on lumpy sand and seaweed whilst laughing at the confused dog and owner who were behind me.

A good day and we raised some cash for MS as well.

BTW - when I picked out this photograph I hadn't realised it could look as if I was mildly surprised at something I had just stepped in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.