stujphoto

By stujphoto

A blip break...

A couple of months ago after my 500th blip I said that I was going pull back on my blip activities in order to complete a Photo Book with gift tokens that had been given me for my 70th birthday a year previously. For the next month and a half I sorted, selected, reprocessed and labelled my photos for the publication and at the beginning of April sent off my magnum opus. I was promised that the book would be ready in three weeks but. in fact. it was delivered within two weeks. I cannot be more pleased with the quality of the book that Blurb have produced and found after some initial difficulties that the Book Module in Lightroom was ideal for the production of such a book. It as enabled me to produce pdf versions that I could put on disc and circulate to the family.

It was an engrossing task with both thrills, such as revisiting previous long-forgotten images and frustrations but overall I am more than well pleased with end result. It has also drawn some favourable comments from friends whose critical views I value. I would certainly encourage other blip contributors to think about this either by ordering the blip annual book or by producing their own books via Blurb. If you do not have Lightroom, Blurb have their own free software which is more than adequate to the task.

One of the nice things that the photo book has enabled me to have, is a readily available source of some of my panoramic images. The one you see in my blip is about 5 feet long but some of my more extended panoramas are up to 7 feet long and only see the light of day when I have an exhibition on. The book as you can see allows you to have images spread across two pages so you can easily fit some of these more extensive panoramas on this two-page format. The only other way I have been able to display them is in an audio-visual presentation. Maybe one day I will get round to putting it up on YouTube and I can put up a link for those who would like to view it.

Oh and by the way I did manage to keep up my blip daily upload though my commenting disappeared for a couple of months., what a compulsive hobby blip has become for me.

By the bye for those of you who were interested in my panoramic shots I have now uploaded the audio visual of these to YouTube and the link is Panoramics Here . It’s a little clunky and juddery as is in the nature of all YouTube amateur video though the original runs quite smoothly. It’s about 8 minutes long and don’t miss the credits as they might be the most creative bit of the whole audio-visual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.