In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Pied Pipers - Jazz Style!

Hoover High School Jazz Ensemble's public debut!

This morning I was outdoors pulling weeds (mainly White stem filaree, Common Mallow and California Burclover if anyone is interested) and I heard music!
It sounded like the snappy competition music that bands perform for the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. I knew it was too loud to be coming all the way from Hoover High School, which is about 10 blocks away, so figured something was "happening" at the local park.
The music was so alluring and I was getting uncomfortable from the kneeling/squatting positions while weeding so decided to grab my camera and walk it off.
There was a Health Fair "happening"!
Among the tent booths were: Sharp's Medical Group, UCSD Shiley Eye Center, SDG&E (San Diego Gas & Electric), UCSD Pre-Dental Society (student run free dental clinics) KSDW Radio (www.ksdwradio.com) with about 10 more I didn't bother to visit.
There was even a bouncy castle for little kids!

Back to the Jazz Ensemble. They were quite good! Even had a female vocalist!
Their next gig will be at the local Saturday Farmer's Market on May 24th. I'm hoping to hear them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.