Whatcha Gonna Do, Bad Boy, Bad Boy?

Some of you know my son as the squirrel whisperer, as TreeGuy the arborist, or as the blipper JustSeanD, but I don't think you've met the rapper yet. His band, Code III, played their 20 year reunion concert tonight at a local bar, and they haven't lost their touch. Back in the day, JustSeanD sported magnificent dreds and had great hair moves, but tonight he had to rely on sheer star power.



Another big difference is that the last time I saw these guys perform, I was shooting film. It seems to me that the photos came out better back then, or is that just nostalgia? My electronics were very confused by the dim, sometimes pulsating, lights and the constant movement. Most of my shots are blurry, although you can tell that the moments were perfect, reminding me that what I always loved about concert photography was anticipating the moment, kinda syncing with the performer and knowing when to push the button. I haven't lost those moves, but Im puzzled about the technical stuff. I tried three different cameras, all of which had the capacity to shoot low-light. Judging from the number of screens in the gyrating room, concerts are a lot more documented these days. I sure would like to see all those images. Does anybody out there have any insight into this situation?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.