chantler63

By chantler63

Liberty in Remembrance

I've found this the toughest so far of all the Shakespeare Challenges (I have only myself to blame!). Reading a bit about it and some consideration on the matter... I photographed the memorial to the war soldiers from our village. Then, through Photoshop layers - clipping etc!!!!! - I evolved this image which includes poems related to war. The play, Julius Caesar is all about the struggle for power which inevitably leads to fighting of some sort. The first time I saw this play it was set in the trenches of WW1 and worked beautifully in this form; I loved it.

Gaius Iulius Caesar (Classical Latin: GAIVS IVLIVS CÆSAR) (12 July 100 BC – 15 March 44 BC) was a Roman religious, military, and political leader. He played an important part in the transformation of the Roman Republic into the Roman Empire. His conquest of Gaul extended the Roman world all the way to the Atlantic Ocean, with the first Roman invasion of Britain in 55 BC. He is widely considered to be one of the greatest military geniuses of all time, as well as a brilliant politician and one of the ancient world's strongest leaders.

'It is easier to find men who will volunteer to die, than to find those who are willing to endure pain with patience.'

'Set honour in one eye and death i' the other,
And I will look on both indifferently. '


from the play:
Well, honour is the subject of my story.
I cannot tell what you and other men
Think of this life: but, for my single self,
I had as lief not be as live to be
In awe of such a thing as I myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.