Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Relationships.

Spent the day at A Matter of Life and Death, the 15th annual conference of the Scottish Association of Family History Societies. Having partaken of lunch and with an hour to kill before I a was to give my talk I took the chance to wander around the stalls of the associated family history fair. What a veritable cornucopia of books and other things to help you trace your family history! I guess that it is all about trying to put facts and faces to names of long gone relatives and to establish relationships. This empty uniform of a member of the Fife and Forfar Yeomanry, dating I think from WW1, struck me as being symbolic of the difficulties of trying to reconstruct the past from surviving fragments of information.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.