Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

The Secret Garden

While my friend Pat is away, I have been going down to her house each day to feed Harriet, the cat, and to water her plants in the greenhouse. Pat lives in the old School and Schoolhouse, and when it was still a school there was a vegetable garden, which still exists.

However, during the 30+ years in which Pat has lived there, she has planted trees, shrubs etc., and these are now quite mature, especially compared to those in my garden, which are a mere 8 years old. Pat's trees & shrubs provide little secret corners of the garden which you can't help but want to explore.

Today, I came across this lovely old fashioned watering can, used for the birds, and an old hammock still attached to a tree; no, I didn't even think of trying it out. "Timber!" would be the word I would have to shout to passing tourists!

It made me think how differently we all garden in this part of the world. I love my colours in the garden, and have lots of flowering plants and shrubs. Pat loves her greenery more, and also loves her vegetables.

There are some plants which do better than others, because we are so near the sea, but nevertheless it is quite astounding what can grow, and indeed thrive in this exposed part of the country.

It takes your breath away when you come across a wee plant that you thought had bit the dust, and there it is - still alive and kicking. Makes you feel quite humble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.