Littlemouse Adventures

By LitlemouseLilly

iPods, shoelaces, coots and the canal has sprung a

Sorry I am really tired so cheating a little and reposting today's post from the health unlocked forum

Week 6 Run 2 of the NHS couch to 5k program.

I wasn't going to go out this morning. I haven't been very well the last couple of days, but I woke up at 6am I told myself no we're not going out today, by 6.30am Ferdinand was wondering if we were going out cause he'd woken up too and it is a run day. Just before 7am we were out the door.

So this morning went something like this:
Walk to road leading to nature reserve, put on iPod and start the 5 minute warm up walk, deal with 'dog' stuff during that 5 minutes.

Get to the towpath just as the first 10 minute run was about to start - er Ferd the canal seems to be almost empty, Ferdinand NO, good boy. Knee protests at the thought of running, I ignore it and let the kinesiology tape do it's job. Get to the lock and faff about a bit, there is a small road it's hardly used but I am trying to teach Ferd to stop and wait for me to say walk on all without me having to put him back on the lead or grab his harness it's erm going sort of ok. Oh look Ferd this side of the lock has water in (guessing they are draining it to dredge). Get the you've done five minutes, ok I think come on we can do this. Oh god the man is there fishing again, huff and puff past. Ferdinand, No, with me, good boy. And well done 10 minutes is up now time for a recovery walk.

3 minute walk - thank the gods cause I don't think I could have gone on much longer. I recover pretty quickly and instead of being impatient for the walk to end I enjoy it.

Time for your next 10 minute run - and we're off. Oh god this is hard, I'm so tired. COOT. Ferdinand NO. Splosh. Jog on spot shouting at spaniel, deploy spaniel whistle, he comes back. And we're moving again. Well done five minutes, and I stop dead I'm done my head says and my body is wholeheartedly agreeing with this statement. I tell it to stop complaining we have only a mere 5 minutes to go. So off we start again and iPod dies. Oh $€#%. Sort out iPod and stuff it in pocket. Look at phone and think well we can just keep a check on the time, only need to do 5 minutes. Off I start. What's that flapping round my feet? Arrghhh sodding shoelace is undone. Deal with that and off again. Huff and puff past the man fishing. Feel a little smug cause you know his 'sport' is just sitting on his arse whereas I am actually getting my heart pumping. COOT. For the love of the goddess Ferdinand NO. Splosh. Grrrrr. FERDINAND NO, GET OUT OF THE SODDING CANAL THIS INSTANT. Put dog on the lead and moan that it started off so promising. No idea how long I've got left now so just run, until I get past the lock and a little further down the tow path. That's it declare it done.

Warm down walk. My toe hurts. My toe really hurts, my trainer is rubbing on my toe. Walking pace gets slower and slower until snails are actually zooming past me. All I can think is the bliss it would be to take my trainers off. Almost at my street. Oh look another snail whizzing past and I think sod it I'm walking the rest of the way home in my socks. And I did.

Water, feed dog, feed cats, feed giant rabbits, feed myself, water, feed little rabbits. Tea. Bed. Put tape over blister. Wonders why week 6 hates me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.