louielouie

By louielouie

Zig Zag Big Band

A few years ago I decided to start a new big band. If you really want to try something immensely challenging then I would suggest that!

I had played in a few other bands over the years and I was getting fed up of petty politics and playing tunes that I didn't like.

I gathered a couple of trusted musical mates, got them onboard, and together we formed Zig Zag Big Band.

Right from the start we've played new compositions from local composers and big band arrangements of modern music. We're mostly amateurs, augmented by a few professionals that we've brought in to help develop the band.

The band features all ages, sex and background too and that's what make it really special for me. You'll never meet a nicer bunch and we all have fun too.

This year we have a monthly residency in Sloans, a Glasgow pub and we're lined up to play the West End Festival and Glasgow Jazz Festival too.

I took this photo of my 1960s Gretsch Drums after today's gig. The late afternoon sun picked out the cymbals and 'champagne sparkle' drums just perfectly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.