Neil Baxter competing in the SCA* Scottish surf kayak championship event that was held at Farr Bay, on the North coast.

Missed the past couple of years, mainly because I wimped-out of camping in the forecast foul weather! The last time I was here was in 2011, when I also featured Mr Baxter. Heading-up this year was very much a last minute decision - the forecast changed for the better.

It was a beautiful sunny day, and good fun was had by all. Not many folk taking part this year, for some reason. They even tried to persuade me to have a go! And whilst I have done some kayak surfing here a few years ago (using a little river kayak), I've never used a 'proper' surf kayak, or taken part in any competitions. My experience is distinctly basic And aside from that, I haven't been in any sort of kayak for over six months!

Far too many photos taken. Means I'll be editing for days to come.

Springwatch - first sighting for this year of: Swallows; Sand Martins; and Sandwich Terns.

(*SCA - Scottish Canoe Association)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.