Delamanda

By Delamanda

Nozzer Shortage in SW3

I thought I was going to be able to kill three birds with one stone today – the word of the day, which was “nozzer” (‘A new recruit, a novice sailor’, OED), something to do with water for Bleeding London and a few streets from SW3, also for BL. So I headed off to Redanchor Close, but as with dreams of Mandalay, ‘the way was barred to me’. Redanchor Close is yet another SW3 street that is gated and locked. I poked my camera through the bars, but didn’t yield anything terribly exciting, so headed down to the river. The Thames looked really dull, there were no naval vessels moored up and nozzers were definitely thin on the ground. So I took my chances on Crosby Hall, as I figured those fishy tails would have some sea-faring connection. And a few googles later, I discovered that this was once the HQ of the East India Company – well there surely had to be a few nozzers amongst its ranks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.