Sunshine Today for a Change

The pussy willows are fully out and inviting the flying insects. If you look very closely in the center right your will see a tiny bee heading for a sip of flower.
This poem about time... and things past, has spoken to me lately. Hope you find something in it too.

The New Song
by W. S. Merwin
For some time I thought there was time
and that there would always be time
for what I had a mind to do
and what I could imagine
going back to and finding it
as I had found it the first time
but by this time I do not know
what I thought when I thought back then

there is no time yet it grows less
there is the sound of rain at night
arriving unknown in the leaves
once without before or after
then I hear the thrush waking
at daybreak singing the new song

"The New Song" by W.S. Merwin, from The Moon Before Morning. © Copper Canyon Press, 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.