Cailleach

By Cailleach

Going pink.....

On Saturday night, I was babysitting for my lovely Sadie and Logan.

I'm afraid that at one point (on discovering that the boiler was broken) I said the word 'shit', and Lady Sadie was rather disapproving.

'That's a bad word,' she said. 'It means poo!'

'Mm, sorry.' I agreed. 'It's not a good word to use.'

As always, madam had more to say.

'I heard the F word on television. Mummy says that's a bad word too.'

Again, I agreed. And then tried to change the subject.

But she still wasn't finished. 'So, what does that word actually mean?'

Now normally, I like to give the kids a really straight answer, but I decided that this question was one that her mother could deal with, so I fudged it slightly.

'Ummm, nothing. It doesn't really mean anything.'

Big mistake. With the unwavering logic of a 7yr old, she pounced. 'Well if it doesn't mean anything, then it can't be a bad word. So can I say it?'

I was pinker than these flowers by the time she got bored with the topic....




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.